Special Awards

In addition to awards for performance, the club presents a small number of special awards on an annual basis. This page lists these awards and the people who have been recipients since their inauguration.

John Stonham Farewell Cup

John Stonham Farewell Cup

John Stonham was an active member of the club from 1986 and the award was donated anonymously in 1993 upon his departure to Thailand. The trophy is awarded annually to the runner who, in the judgement of the Committee, inspires others by being 1) a new runner who shows significant "improvement, but not necessarily victories" 2) an experienced runner returning from injury or illness or 3) a runner showing enthusiasm in the sport even without victory. The cup is usually awarded at the Christmas dinner.

John Stonham was delighted to have a cup named after him and was always pleased to learn of the winner each year. Sadly John passed away in May 2008 aged 82.

Year Winners
2023 Kim Pflaum
2020 Jim Ashworth-Beaumont
2019 Keith Evans
2018 Reilly Ayres
2017 Lars Menken
2016 Samantha Day
2015 Poppy Lenton
2014 Manuel Moreno
2013 Angela McGhee
2012 Jan Farmer
2011 Donna Clinker
2010 Natalie Kolodziej
2009 Ron Hagell
2008 Stephanie Vaatz
2007 David Simpson
2006 Abdifatah Dhuhulow
2005 Keith Evans
2004 Alan Woodward
2003 Nick Slade
2002 Carole Wisdom
2001 Baiju McCubbins
2000 Bob Davidson
1999 David Lipscomb
1995 -1998 Not awarded
1994 Sue McGinlay
1993 Joyce Goody

Secretary's Shield

Secretary's Shield

Donated by James Godber, the then Honorary Secretary, in 1986, this trophy is awarded annually to the club member or members who, in the personal judgement of the Honorary Secretary, has greatly contributed to the club, above and beyond what might be expected from an ordinary member. The trophy is awarded at the AGM following the committee year to which the award relates i.e. the 2011 trophy was awarded in 2012 by the secretary in office from 2011 to 2012.

Year Winners Citation
2023 Lindsey Chiswick For setting up monthly trail runs outside of London.
2022 Sophie Flanagan For her contribution to the club’s participation in track and field and cross-country racing and for her enthusiastic support and commitment to the club.
2021 Philip Whitehouse, Owen Barder and Marco Viappiani For their significant contributions to the website project throughout the year.
2020 Diana Valk For all her work, commitment and contribution over seven issues as the editor of Serpentimes.
2019 Kevin Murray For his varied and enthusiastic support and commitment to the club, including in relation to the Richmond Sunday morning run and assisting in organising social events.
2018 Grace Sim Mackintosh For her hard work, tremendous enthusiasm and real commitment to the juniors.
2017 Laura Fountain & Laura Stewart For all their help and support generally, but particularly for their dedication and enthusiasm with coaching at the Monday evening foundation track session at Paddington Recreation Ground.
2016 Barbie Chan For all her help and support generally but particularly in achieving great results with the Serpentine juniors.
2015 Raoul Mansukhani For leading the Richmond Park Sunday club runs since 2008.
2014 James Edgar & Nicola Barberis Negra For organising the Tube Line Relay, involving nearly 150 members in their Serpentine colours at all levels and covering all 11 lines, 32 branches, 270 stations all in one day – a true club event.
2013 James Edgar & Nicola Barberis Negra For organising the Capital Ring Relay after the Green Belt Relay was cancelled, running a 76-mile ring around London on a Saturday, starting in Highgate and ending, of course, in a pub, in Hampstead.
2012 Victoria Crawford For her work to develop a women's performance training squad and improve the women's team.
2010 Alan G Hall For his commitment to the club and for organising numerous trail running weekends over the year.
2009 Paul Fromme For his help on Wednesday nights and with organising the Welsh Castles Relay team.
2008 John Cullinanne For his work as a coach, an official and for producing Serpentimes.
2007 Lisa Pettit For being a willing volunteer in many events, as an official in track and field, becoming a coach and organising the New Year's Day 10K.
2006 Jeni Vlahovic For her service to the club, particularly work on major projects whilst on the committee and her professional approach.
2005 Sue McGinlay & Clive Martin For their regular and valuable contributions to the Saturday club runs.
2004 Sally Hodge & Richard Melik For their work on redesigning Serpentimes.
2003 David Knight For his contribution to the club over the past 3 years, particularly in light of how involved he remained with the club even though injured.
2002 Maggie Moran, Gemma Hale & Robin Adams For taking on the mantle of coaching, following Derek Turner’s departure.
2001 Sue McGinlay & Bev Thomas For their invaluable work and encouragement with the Serpentine Starter Group which has become a valuable part of the club.
2000 Ron Hagell & Beate Vogt For the amount of time and energy put into the new bib system, the Race for Life organisation, the Sunday Richmond Park runs, the Round Norfolk Relay and for their encouragement to all members.
1999 Owen Barder & Arthur Garrison For their work on communications within the club (the web site and Serpentimes respectively).
1998 Nick Slade For his work in organising the Tuesday Hill Sprint sessions and the Green Belt teams.
1997 Derek Turner For organising the entries to the Seven Sisters Marathon and for his coaching.
1996 John Walker  
1995 Liz Graig For being Ladies' Captain.
1994 Bev Thomas For her work on the Committee and as social secretary.
1993 Ros Young For her work on the Committee.
1992 Barry Laverick For being Mens' Captain and for the 100 Club .
1991 Hazel Paterson & Mike Maddison For, respectively, writing and producing the 10th anniversary book.
1990 John Ralph For being Mens' Captain.
1989 Nicky Roswell For being Ladies' Captain.
1988 Peter Weddell For starting and producing the weekly newsletter.
1987 Hilary Walker  
1986 Derek Johnson For fartlek sessions in the Hyde Park, the Serpie names circle, rewriting the Rules.

David Simpson Memorial Trophy

David Simpson Memorial TrophyDavid, who was a long-standing Serpentine member, a jog leader and recipient of the John Stonham Trophy in 2007, passed away in 2011 after a long battle with cancer. He was kind enough to leave the club a legacy in his will, a part of which was used to inaugurate the David Simpson Memorial Trophy, awarded on an annual basis for acheivement in hill and off road running, both of which were close to David's heart.

Year Winners
2023 Andrea Sanders-Reece
2021 Natasha Sheel
2020 Matt Hearne
2019 Karen Hancock
2017 Phil Bradburn
2016 Alan Hall
2015 Glenn Hughes
2014 Lars Olsen
2013 Sarah Pemberton
2012 Jane Fanning

Innovation Cup

The Innovation Cup was very generously donated by an anonymous donor for the most innovative, inclusive event organised by the club, as determined by the Chair and Secretary from nominations made by members of the Committee.

Year Winners Citation
2020 Vinh Lam The weekly Zwift Team Time Trials 
2019 Monica Mundo Her “Serpies get together for a Panettone” initiative
2017 Nicola Barberis Negra For devising and organising the virtual icosathlon