Club 10 mile champions - CORRECTION

The club 10 mile championship was held at the Harry Hawkes 10 on Sunday. Our 2015 winners are Andrea Fraquelli Simon Morris and Liz Wynn, with Peter Clarke winning the age-graded trophy.

With the Rugby world cup causing the cancellation of the Cabbage Patch 10, we were left with very few options for a 10 mile race once clashes with other events were taken into account, so we ended up choosing the Harry Hawkes 10 this year. Timing wasn't ideal with the race being mid-summer and it became significantly worse when we had to move our 5k championship a week later because the Formula E racing bumped us out of Battersea Park, so I hope everyone who did the double (5k and 10 miles) isn't cursing Steph and me too much!

Race report from Liz Wynn

A select Serpentine contingent toed the line at the Harry Hawkes 10 mile this morning in warm, bright sunshine to contend the 10 mile club championship.

Led home by Andrea Fraquelli (who was not wearing club kit so does not qualify for the club championship), followed by new 10 mile club champions Simon Morris and Liz Wynn – Serpentine featured strongly on the attractive woodland and riverside course. The men’s team of Andrea Fraquelli, Simon Morris, Peter Clarke and Ralph Collett took the overall team prize, Liz was 3rd female and Andrew Maynard 2nd V50. Peter Clarke won the Serpentine age-graded trophy.

Race results

2015 club championships

The next (and final) club championship for 2015 will be the Middlesex & Open 10k (the Middlesex County Championship) in Victoria Park on Sunday 4th October.

Hugh Torry leads the 2015 championship, closely followed by Peter Clarke and Daniel de Palol.

2015 club championship table

Submitted: 20 July 2015