Southern Athletics League 3 - match report

On Sunday we returned to Perivale for meeting three of this year’s Southern Athletics League (SAL) competition. Read on to see the match report written by Stuart Leigh.

Sal Match 3 group photo

The match was hosted by Ealing who ran a great event featuring electronic timing and live web based results. Our competition was again Ealing & Southall, Harrow, Hillingdon, Highgate and Thames Valley Harriers. There were some stellar performances from other clubs including a 21.59 second men’s 200 metres, a 14:59 men’s 5,000 metres and a 67 metre women’s hammer throw.

The standout Serpie point-scoring performance of the day was Anna Hollingsworth’s win in the 3,000 metres in 10:15. Hot on her heels in second place in the 3,000 metres was Tash Sheel in 10:26. Tash was also our highest overall points scorer on the day (2,020 points), winning the 1,500 metres in 5:00 and coming a very creditable third in the 2K steeplechase which featured a strong field.

The women’s steeplechase also featured second claim Serpie Lisa Thomas who not only broke her own V55 British 2K Steeplechase record but smashed the V55 World Record, coming home in 7:51. Well done Lisa!

The men’s team’s highest points scorer was Bart Porzuczek (1,533 points) who as usual competed valiantly against some very fast young athletes in the 200M, 400M, 800M and both sprint relays.

Thank you to all the athletes who came along and competed and to the officials without whom there would be no Southern Athletics League.

The fourth and final SAL match of the season will be at Parliament Hill on Saturday 11th September.
If you would like to be involved either as a scorer for the club or non-scorer, please contact Rhi (women) or myself (men). Everybody is welcome, including those new to track and field.

Match Result (Points Scored/100): Thames Valley Harriers 400.9, Harrow 398.0, Ealing 231.4, Serpentine 142.4, Hillingdon 139.2, Highgate 91.9

Team: Alex Malzer, Anna Hollingsworth, Bartosz Porzuczek, Dave Robinson, David Hinds, Debashish Biswas, Hel James, James Gillanders, Lisa Thomas, Lucy Hancock, Luke Robinson, Natasha Sheel, Nic Barberis Negra, Philip Whitehouse, Rhiannon Needham, Sodiq Abiola, Stuart Leigh, Tony McGahan

Officials: Andrew Maynard, David Lipscomb, Sammy Li

Submitted: 21 August 2021